Brock Heasley

This oft-neglected blog now has something it’s never had before–my undivided attention. Congratulations, blog, I’m unemployed. This is bound to be upsetting, hilarious and hopeful. 

Friday – August 29, 2014

CharlieBrownFootballI got laid off today and it was awesome. I don’t mean “awesome” in the overused, exulting sense, but in the “Aw, #$%@!” sense. I guess I sort of saw it coming because I woke up sick to my stomach every morning this week for no discernible reason. I wasn’t ill, I hadn’t eaten anything problematic the nights before. I just felt vomity anxiety. Didn’t think it was leading to getting laid off, but there you go. Basically, I was Charlie Brown. I should have maybe guessed Lucy would take the football away, but I sure didn’t expect her to up and run off with it.

I walked out of the boss’ office feeling numb and panicky and kind of dead. I was the undead, really…

View original post 718 more words